Home, sweet home

February 6, 2019

That time of the year is back! Football powerhouses are facing off each other on a regular basis and the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is now more exciting than ever with more venues for the high-voltage matches to be played at. This season, a total of six venues have been incorporated into the league for a total of 13 teams. But do you know who calls which venue their ‘home’? Let’s take a look into the home grounds of the thirteen teams participating in BPL 2019.

Reigning champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd. have made Dhaka their home ground from the very beginning of their journey. To serve the purpose home matches, Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka’s Kamalapur is the home base of the sky blue brigade. All the home matches of the hot favourite team are held in the national stadium while the team uses its own ground for practice in the capital’s Dhanmondi area.

In a city full of buildings and roads, it is difficult to allocate home grounds for every club based in this bustling metropolitan. Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd, Mohammedan SC Ltd and Brothers Union share their home ground with Abahani. Bangabandhu National Stadium is the official home ground of these three teams as well.

In addition to that, the national stadium is also the home base of Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society and Chittagong Abahani Ltd. One would assume that Chattogram Abahoni would have chosen a stadium in the port city as their home base, but the team had to settle for the national stadium due to lack of infrastructure and logistical support.

To get away from the crammed-up spaces in Dhaka, dominant powerhouses Saif Sporting Club Ltd and Arambagh Krira Shangha have chosen Rafiquddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh as their home ground. The transportation to Dhaka for the two teams is facilitated by the Dhaka-Mymensingh highway and their home ground has been attracting numerous spectators.

Sheikh Russel KC Ltd on the other hand have opted for the Sylhet District Stadium. The diverse home grounds have been successful in decentralizing the first tier league of the country and Sheikh Russel’s contributions in the Sylhet ground cannot be overlooked.

Rising hot favourites Bashundhara Kings have selected Sheikh Kamal Stadium in Nilphamari as their home ground. The red clad booters practice in their home ground on a regular basis and their exciting matches have drawn commendable crowd in the district ground.

Bangladesh Muktijoddha SKC have picked Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj as their home ground. Other two teams NoFeL Sporting Club and Team BJMC have settled for the Shahid Bulu Stadium in Noakhali as their headquarters.

The two stadiums in Nilphamari and Noakhali have hosted BPL matches for the first time this season. The BFF plans to expand the top tier football extravaganza all across the country and the rising number of home grounds are contributing to the cause.

Copyright @ 2017 Bangladesh Football Federation | All rights reserved. Developed by OMNISPACE