Bangabandhu’s 100th birth anniversary celebration: BFF President in national committee

February 16, 2019

Dhaka: The government has formed two separate committees to organize the events of the 100th birth anniversary celebration of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

A 102 members-national committee, headed by Bangabandhu’s eldest daughter Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, will plan the events while another 61 members-committee has been formed to implement the total arrangement.

The national committee also includes Bangabandhu’s younger daughter Sheikh Rehana, National Parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury, Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, Prime Minister’s Information and Communication Technology advisor Sajeeb Wazed Joy, opposition leader in the House Hussain Muhammad Ershad and one-day captain for Bangladesh National Cricket Team Mashrafe Bin Mortuza, MP.

Notably, the committee also includes former captain of Bangladesh National Football Team and current president of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin.

Apart from the names mentioned above, the chiefs of army, navy and air force, vice-chancellors of different public universities, senior journalists and educationists have been included in the 102-members national committee.

Here is the full list of the committee members-


Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the architect of the liberation and the founder of Bangladesh, was born on March 17 of 1920 at Tungipara of Gopalganj.

In order to observe the 100th birth anniversary, the government had earlier announced 2020 the ‘Mujib Barsho’ (Mujib Year).

The National Committee will give suggestions and guidance to the implementation committee and will adopt and approve different policies in this regard from March 17, 2020 to March 17, 2021.


Copyright @ 2017 Bangladesh Football Federation | All rights reserved. Developed by OMNISPACE