Bangladesh Police lift BCL trophy, Uttar Baridhara runners up

May 24, 2019

Bangladesh Police Football Club (BPFC) have become the new champions of the Bangladesh Championship League, the second most prestigious league in the country’s football.

They were officially announced the champions after today’s season finale match where they defeated Soccer Club Feni 5-1, who just have been relegated from the league.

On the other hand, Uttar Baridhara Club (UBC) became the runners up in the BCL’s just finished edition.

The BPFC were six points clear ahead of the second position holders UBC before today’s match. Therefore, it was anticipated that the ‘policemen’ were going to be the champions.

Today, BPFC pressed Soccer Club from the very first minute of the match. Especially, their star forward Amirul, who has been shining throughout the league, was on his peak form and scored a hat trick with 4 goals.

As a result, Amirul brought his team 1-0 lead at the 26th minute when he got the ball at the edge of the D box of Soccer Club and took a powerful shot to score his first goal in the match.

9 minute later, Amirul’s teammate Komol hit the ground to score his only goal that made the score line 2-0.

At the 43rd minute, Amirul came out to celebrate once again and made the lead 3-0 for the Police FC.

After the half time, the BPFC started dominating Soccer Club in a relaxed mode. Amirul, at the 61st minute of the game, celebrated his hat trick beating the tired SCF defenders.

Just 7 minutes later, the ‘policemen’ got their fifth and last goal when Amirul, the goal machine, came out from a little crowd in front of SCF’s goalpost and send the ball inside the post.

The only consolation the Feni club can get from this match is their last moment goal. At the second additional minute of the match, they got a penalty shootout and utilized the chance to score their only goal in the match.

With today’s one, the Police FC won 11 matches on their way to be the champions while they lost only three and shared points with opponents in the rest six matches.

They collected a total of 39 points to become the champions while Uttar Baridhara had 33 points from 9 wins out of the total 20 matches.

According to BFF rules, these two contenders will be promoted to country’s most prestigious league Bangladesh Premier League.

On the contrary, Soccer Club Feni along with Swadhinata Krira Shangha, will be relegated from BCL to the DMFLC senior football league.

Both the champions and runners up teams were honored with respective trophies at the prize giving ceremony where Bangladesh Football Federation Senior Vice President Abdus Salam Murshedy, MP was present at the chief guest.

Meanwhile, the BFF handed over the champions and runners up trophies of BCL 2014-15 season to the respective teams today. Uttar Baridhara Club were champions in that season while Arambagh Krira Shangha were the runners up.

Copyright @ 2017 Bangladesh Football Federation | All rights reserved. Developed by OMNISPACE