Bashundhara Kings clench on to maiden Independence Cup title

December 26, 2018

The newcomers in the big leagues, Bashundhara Kings has own their maiden Independence Cup title triumphing 12 renowned teams in the prestigious Walton Independence Cup Football Tournament.

They defeated the triple-time winner Sheikh Russel KC by 2-1 goals in the final on Wednesday at the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

Motin Mia, the local forward, took the field by storm after taking over as a sub and scored the title decider for big-budgeted Bashundhara Kings in the 6th minute of the extra time as the match was locked in 1-1 goal during the 90-minute countdown.

Brazilian mid-fielder Marcos Vinicius Da Costa put Bashundhara Kings ahead in the 16th minute by a left-legged long shot from about 25 yards (1-0).

Nigerian midfielder Raphael Odoyin levelled the margin for Sheikh Russel KC in the injury time of the first half (46th minute), also by a long shot from top of the box that kissed the Kings net through the 2nd bar to lock the match 1-1 during the first half.

Motin Miah had also scored the first goal for Bashundhara Kings in the 2nd semifinal on Thursday last, but Haitian forward Kervens Belfort restored the parity for Dhaka Abahani Limited in 1-1 draw in the stipulated 90-minute time to lead the match towards tie-breaker.

Later in the tie-breaker, Kings reached the final at the coffin of holders Dhaka Abahani Limited beating them by 7-6 goals in the sudden death session.

Newcomers Bashundhara Kings, which formed a strong team recruiting local and foreign star players to make championship fight in the top level of the country’s football, reached the final of the season’s curtain raiser meet Federation Cup Football Tournament, but lost the trophy to mighty Dhaka Abahani Limited by 1-3 goals in the final last month.

Sheikh Russel KC reached the final eliminating Brothers Union Club by 2-0 goals in the first semifinal on Wednesday last.

Both the teams reached the final from death group of D eliminating formidable Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club.


Copyright @ 2017 Bangladesh Football Federation | All rights reserved. Developed by OMNISPACE